CENTRAL COLUMBIA SCHOOL DISTRICT 4777 Old Berwick Road Bloomsburg, PA 17815

MINUTES OF THE BOARD REORGANIZATION MEETING

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 3, 2014

Call to Order: A reorganization meeting of the Central Columbia Board of School Directors was held at 7:00 p.m., on Wednesday, December 3, 2014, at the Columbia-Montour AVTS, President Coates presiding.

Roll Call: Members Present: Mr. Coates, President

Mr. Sitler, Vice President

Mr. Chyko Mr. Crawford Mr. Klingerman Mr. Markowski Mr. Rafel Mr. Rhoads

Members Absent: Mr. Fogarty, Treasurer

Staff Present: Christina Fish, Director of Special Education

Jeffrey Groshek, High School Principal Chad Heintzelman, Middle School Principal Tracy Krum, Curriculum Coordinator

Annette Lowery, Business Administrator/Board Secretary

Kim MacDonald, Assistant Business Administrator/Food Service Director

Harry Mathias, Superintendent John Monick, Technology Director

Carla Sauer, Elementary/Middle School Assistant Principal

Thomas Sharrow, Elementary School Principal Christopher Snyder, High School Assistant Principal

Recognition of Guests: Jackie Flook, teacher.

Board Reorganization:

<u>Temporary President</u> – Mr. Chyko moved, seconded by Mr. Rhoads, to approve the appointment of Mr. Robert Sitler as temporary president to conduct the board organization. This motion <u>passed</u> with the following vote tally: (8-0)

Mr. Chvko Yes Mr. Coates Yes Mr. Crawford Yes Mr. Klingerman Yes Mr. Markowski Yes Mr. Rafel Yes Mr. Rhoads Yes Mr. Sitler Yes

<u>Elect President</u> – Temporary President Sitler announced that nominations for the office of President were in order. Based on results of the organization questionnaire, Mr. John Coates is nominated as president for a one year term. Mr. Sitler asked if there were other nominations and having none closed the nominations.

MINUTES OF THE CENTRAL COLUMBIA BOARD REORGANIZATION MEETING

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 3, 2014 PAGE 2

Mr. Coates was recommended to receive the nomination for the office of President. Mr. Chyko moved, seconded by Mr. Rhoads, passed unanimously with a voice vote, to declare John Coates to the office of President for 2015. Mr. Sitler passed the gavel to Mr. Coates. (8-0)

Elect Vice President – President Coates announced that nominations for the office of Vice President were in order. Based on results of the organization questionnaire, Mr. Robert Sitler is nominated as vice president for a one year term. Mr. Coates asked if there were other nominations and having none closed the nominations.

Mr. Sitler was recommended to receive the nomination for the office of Vice President. Mr. Chyko moved, seconded by Mr. Rhoads, passed unanimously with a voice vote, to declare Robert F. Sitler, Jr. elected to the office of Vice President for 2015. (8-0)

Board Committees - Mr. Chyko moved, seconded by Mr. Sitler, to grant approval the following committee assignments for 2015. This motion passed with the following vote tally: (8-0)

Mr. Chyko	Yes
Mr. Coates	Yes
Mr. Crawford	Yes
Mr. Klingerman	Yes
Mr. Markowski	Yes
Mr. Rafel	Yes
Mr. Rhoads	Yes
Mr. Sitler	Yes

Activities & Personnel Committee

Robert J. Fogarty, Chairperson

James Rafel Bruce E. Rhoads Robert F. Sitler, Jr.

Buildings & Grounds Committee

Steve Crawford, Chairperson Charles Chyko

Brian D. Klingerman Robert F. Sitler, Jr.

Curriculum, In-Service & Textbooks Committee

Thomas Markowski, Chairperson

James Rafel

Robert F. Sitler, Jr.

Equipment, Supply & Cafeteria Committee

Bruce E. Rhoads, Chairperson

Steve Crawford Thomas Markowski

Finance, Budget & Insurance Committee

Robert F. Sitler, Jr., Chairperson

Robert J. Fogarty Brian D. Klingerman

Negotiations & Grievance Committee

Robert J. Fogarty, Chairperson

Charles C. Chyko

Brian D. Klingerman

Policy, Legislation, Goals & Evaluation Committee

Bruce E. Rhoads, Chairperson

Robert J. Fogarty James Rafel

Comprehensive Plan Representatives

James Rafel, Chairperson

Bruce Rhoads

Tax Exoneration & Local Revenue Committee

Thomas Markowski Region #1 Brian D. Klingerman, Chairperson Region #2 Region #3 Steve Crawford

Transportation Committee

Region #1 Thomas Markowski Region #2 Charles C. Chyko, Chairperson Steve Crawford Region #3

Educational Foundation Board Representatives

Brian D. Klingerman Charles C. Chyko

Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit Representative

Bruce Rhoads - (term expires June 30, 2017)

Vo-Tech Operating Committee Representatives

Robert J. Fogarty (November 30, 2016)

Charles C. Chyko (November 30, 2017)

<u>Time & Place for Board Meetings</u> — Mr. Chyko moved, seconded by Mr. Rhoads, <u>passed</u> unanimously with a voice vote, to establish the time of regular meetings to discuss matters that come before the Central Columbia Board of School Directors to begin at 6:00 p.m. Meetings will be held in the district office board room on the following dates: (8-0)

Monday, January 5, 2015	Monday, June 15, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015	Monday, July 6, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015	Monday, July 20, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015	Monday, August 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015	Monday, August 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015	Monday, September 21, 2015
* Monday, April 13, 2015	Monday, October 19, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015	Monday, November 16, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015	** Monday, December 7, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015	

^{*} These meetings are the second Monday of the month.

Adjournment: Having no further business, President Coates adjourned the meeting at 7:12 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,
Rosemary J, Nagle, Recording Secretary

^{**} Board Reorganization and Regular Meeting